Riccione

Sorry it’s been a while. I’ve been quite busy being back at uni and with Easter that was a few weeks ago.

Anyways, as I write to you it is well and truly close until I head away (just under 2 months), so I thought I’d tell you a bit about my next destination after beautiful, sunny Croatia!

Once my Sail Croatia is over, I will be catching an overnight ferry to the beautiful Italy. More specifically I’ll be heading to a place called Riccione, which I’ve heard is perfect for young people, has great shopping, and ideal for people who want a bit of RnR by the beach!

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 7.18.15 PM

I’ve been to Italy twice before, and with an understanding of the language, and having an Italian background, I will be very eager to get there and explore the Adriatic Coast, a side of Italy I’ve never been to before.

As I told you before, I’ll be catching an overnight ferry to Italy from Croatia, and can I tell you I am freaking out. I am able to swim, and I love the water, but the thought of going from one country to another by boat is really messing with me, especially because it is overnight. Anyway, I guess there is still a bit of time before I have to do that, and who knows, maybe a week on the water in Croatia will help me overcome that fear.

So… Why Riccione?

I chose Riccione because of its vicinity to Croatia, (Croatia is such a painful country to fly in and out of) and I wanted to go to a place in Italy which isn’t completely filled with tourists from outside of Europe. I did a bit of research, and originally chose Rimini as my destination of choice, however after speaking to a few people and getting their input, Riccione sounded like the destination of choice for me.

It’s famous for it’s piadina, which I loooove! They are similar to a quesadilla, but an Italian version!

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 12.39.18 PM

I’m excited for a beach in Italy that has sand (even though all beaches in Australia do), and the images of colourful beach umbrellas will add vibrancy and a relaxed and happy atmosphere to this part of my holiday.

Essentially, as you can probably tell I am super excited to hit the beautiful Italy, however I don’t really know what to expect, which is what creates the excitement in it all.

Next up, my last destination on my trip (yes, very sad I know, but it’s a good one)

Speak soon,

A

xx

Leave a Reply

